Roadblocks...

Roadblocks...

My Learning has slowed down to a halt.

ยท

2 min read

Weekly update my friends!

TLDR: My journey has now reached a slow crawl. And I need to re-assess the way I want to move forward.

On to the story!!


The Problem

Okay, I need to be honest. I have been slipping when it comes to my studies.

I guess I started this journey because that was the time of the year that I was inspired to do something.

Maybe I was bored with work or just wanted to create something. And I guess all the stars aligned and it inspired me to start.

But ever since I managed to finish my portfolio and the tech challenge, my creativity/ dev itch has been sated.

Motivation is scarce and my mind just wants to take a break and relax.

Before I spend my evenings studying, but now my body just wants to sleep early.


Current Situation

I'm currently studying FCC's Front End Development Libraries and I am now doing their React course.

And boy it has been a struggle for me. My usual way of studying is not working.

I've resorted to taking notes via pen & paper just for knowledge retention because after a few lessons I tend to forget what the previous lessons were about.

This method although effective is both a blessing and a curse.

/The blessing/

As I said it is a better method for knowledge retention.

By writing things down I tend to remember things better. Also when I forget things it's easier to look at notes rather than go back to the tutorial.

/The curse/

Since I usually study late at night/ early mornings I can't write down notes. ๐Ÿ˜…


Moving Forward

So with this conundrum on my hand, I can only think of one solution.

I'm going to continue the lessons in the evening.

Then, during weekends I'll go back through the lessons and write them down in the notebook.

By doing this I'm hoping the multiple passes throughout the lessons would help me understand it better.

Also by writing down the lesson and codes the knowledge retention will also be better.


Conclusion

So that's my status so far.

Sorry if the progress is not as significant as in the past. But as I've said before.

Progress.jfif

If you guys have tips on studying let me know by leaving a comment down below.

Or hit me up on Twitter

Till the next one!

ย